top of page
keyboardblog.png

Bohr's Blog

How The Pride of Central came to be - and how you can finish your first novel.

  • Writer's pictureDavid Bohr

The Difference I Couldn't See

Sometimes you need to relearn your own lessons.


Months ago, I posted blogs about how different authors approach their works differently. Some write straight from the beginning to end, while others write from the middle of the manuscript. Some write every day, others only write from time to time but for hours when they do.


But, as I hinted at in last week's blog entry, I did not realize there was another way in which writers could be different: we can get our ideas at very different paces.


I first thought of the story for The Pride of Central in 2008. When the novel was published in 2019, I had no further story ideas. I did get the occasional small concept, but not a storyline. No big themes, no plot, no interesting characters developed in my mind.


Meanwhile, in some of the author groups I joined on FaceBook, or accounts I would follow on Twitter, it seemed like everyone else had already written one book, had another one releasing in a week, and third one already being developed. Some of these authors would even lament that they had two or three more book ideas that they had not even begun.


At first I did not take much notice to this difference between myself and many of the other writers online. But over time, it started to wear on me. Why was everyone else getting so many ideas, and I'm stopped at one?


I have no complaints about The Pride of Central. Though I do not pretend that the book is perfect, it has been more successful than I ever expected. But I started to get down on myself because I seemed to lack the imagination to ever write another book.


I thought I was a failure. And that was the lesson I needed to relearn: none of us are failures.


The thing I missed was that authors get their ideas in different ways and at different times. A writer might think of several stories over a course of a year, and then spend a lifetime publishing all of them. But that was not me, and that may not be you.


A couple months ago, a story did finally develop in my mind. No baseball this time, but rather a drama/romance, surrounding a married couple who is trying to find the jewels that the wife's late father had intended for her to have on her wedding day. The working title is The Jewelry of Grace.


The story idea was going to come eventually. I just needed to be patient, and not judge myself based on the speed that other writers created their own story lines.


Maybe you published a book or two, but they were over ten years ago. Or twenty years. You are wondering when the next story will come to mind. It is hard, but be patient. You can think about it, but you can't force it.


The next story will come in its own time.


Next week: A writer's greatest joy

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Changing Seasons

Seasons changing can be beautiful. But seasons changing can also be difficult. This applies to any kind of season. When summer changed to autumn here in Pennsylvania, I was ready to feel the crisp air

Looking Past Your Labels

Everybody gets labelled. Some labels sound nice, some sound ugly, and others just sound like a matter of fact. "He's smart." "She's pretty." "You're aggressive." "They're crazy." These labels can come

Fading to Black

There are certain subjects that can make an author, especially a new author, a little squeamish to write about. It won't be the same subjects for each writer, but there are a few that can cause us sle

bottom of page