top of page
keyboardblog.png

Bohr's Blog

How The Pride of Central came to be - and how you can finish your first novel.

  • Writer's pictureDavid Bohr

A Writer's Greatest Joy

What makes a writer happy?


Is it getting that next big idea? Finishing a manuscript? Holding a newly printed copy of his or her first book? Hosting a signing event? Seeing their story turned into a movie?


All of these things produce some degree of happiness – or at least I assume they do, seeing as The Pride of Central is nowhere near the movie stage. However, I do not think any of them are the thing that generates the most joy for me.


Before I continue, I want to call attention to the title of this entry. This is about “a” writer's greatest joy, not every writer's greatest joy. C.S. Lewis wrote about “A Grief Observed” looking back on his own mourning when his wife passed. It has been pointed out that he was only writing about his grief, not everyone’s grief.


Here, I'm writing about my favorite source of happiness connected to The Pride of Central. Not all authors will agree with me. A five-star review on Amazon or an event where I sell 15 copies of my book do give me a spark, but that is the not the best part of this experience.


The greatest joy has come from meeting my readers face-to-face.


Sometimes those readers are people I have known for years. We went to school together, worked together, or lived in the same neighborhood. When they stop by an event to pick up my book, we get to catch up on what has been going on in both of our lives and the lives of our families.


Sometimes those readers are people who knew my name from my sports journalism. These conversations are less likely to be about our family lives, but I have still been able to talk with them about the local or national sports scene.


Sometimes those readers are complete strangers, who are buying my book because they saw that an author was coming to a local coffee shop. These conversations might, on the surface, seem to be potentially awkward. But the truth is, they can go in many directions and can lead to unexpected connections.


Later on, in some cases, I see these readers again when they have finished The Pride of Central. Finding out what each one took out of my story, how they interpreted the symbolism, or how they felt about the ultimate fate of the Central team has been a joy in itself.


That's because this stage of writing is personal. It is actually about two people, a writer and a reader, connecting and sharing what the story means to them.


It is true that the stages of writing, editing, publishing and promoting are necessary to reach this level, but none of these acts are inherently personal. As a result, I do not derive the joy from them that I do from having my next-door neighbor talk to me, letting me know how much her boyfriend enjoys my book.


Those moments give me my greatest joy.


Next week: I'm even different from myself

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Changing Seasons

Seasons changing can be beautiful. But seasons changing can also be difficult. This applies to any kind of season. When summer changed to autumn here in Pennsylvania, I was ready to feel the crisp air

Looking Past Your Labels

Everybody gets labelled. Some labels sound nice, some sound ugly, and others just sound like a matter of fact. "He's smart." "She's pretty." "You're aggressive." "They're crazy." These labels can come

Fading to Black

There are certain subjects that can make an author, especially a new author, a little squeamish to write about. It won't be the same subjects for each writer, but there are a few that can cause us sle

bottom of page